© 2016 SafeDATE          Charity Number: 297903

Snapchat & SnapMap

With so many people using Snapchat to share photos, it can be easy to forget the risks associated

with sexting. There are various methods that someone could use to permanently save a Snapchat

without the sender knowing. It is never safe to send a private snap over Snapchat so think wisely

before you intend to send a private snap.

Location sharing has lots of risks. Mainly, it allows people to build up a picture of where you live, go

to school and spend your time.

Top tips for location sharing are:

  • Only share your location with people you know in person. Never share your location with strangers.

  • Don’t add contacts to Snapchat if you don’t know them in person.

  • Regularly review your settings and take an active decision about who you want to know your location – if anyone at all. Remember you can go into Ghost Mode at any time.

  • Think about where you’re sharing your location. It could lead people to your house. Think about what times you are on the app and whether these are locations you want to share – if not . . . Ghost Mode

 

Delete and Block Friends

To delete a Snapchatter who is your friend follow the steps below: 

  1. Tap your Bitmoji in the upper left hand corner of the Camera screen which will take you to your Profile screen. 

  2. Tap 'My Friends.' 

  3. Enter the Snapchattters name in the search bar. 

  4. Press and hold on their username and tap 'Remove Friend.' 

 

By default, only ‘Friends’ you’ve added on Snapchat can contact you directly or view your Story. However, if you choose 'Everyone’ for ‘Who Can Contact Me,’ even Snapchatters you haven't added will be able to send you Snaps and Chats. Customize your privacy settings here

 

To block a Snapchatter who is your friend follow the steps below: 

*If you block a Snapchatter they will no longer be able to view your Story, or send you Snaps or Chats.

  1. Tap your Bitmoji in the upper left hand corner of the Camera screen which will take you to your profile screen. 

  2. Tap 'My Friends' on the Profile Screen.

  3. Tap on their name.

  4. Tap the cog below their name and select 'Block' to prevent them from sending you Snaps, Chats, or from viewing your Story.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To block a Snapchatter who chatted you follow the steps below:

  1. Swipe left on the Snapchatter's name who chatted you to open the Chat screen.

  2. Tap the 3 lines.

  3. Tap 'Block' to prevent them from sending you Snaps, Chats, or from viewing your Story.

 

To block a Snapchatter who added you follow the steps below:

  1. Tap 'Added Me' on the Profile Screen

  2. Tap their name, then tap the cog next to their name – or simply swipe left on their name

  3. Press 'Block' to prevent them from sending you Snaps, Chats, or from viewing your Story

 

If you would like to unblock a Snapchatter:

  1. Tap the cog and scroll down to 'Account Actions' and tap 'Blocked'.

  2. You should see a list of Snapchatters who are currently blocked. Simply tap the X next to their name to unblock them.

 

Please Note: Depending on your privacy settings, after you've unblocked a Snapchatter, you both may need to re-add each other as friends to send Snaps and Chats. If you send them a Snap a grey send may appear if you have not yet added each other! 

This information is up to date as of 28th March 2019 and will not be updated soon

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now